AE IIc System Clock (CPU-Computer Peripherals Unlimited)

September 30, 2017AE IIc System Clock (CPU-Computer Peripherals Unlimited) . There were some discussions on the Apple II forum on FaceBook after I posted the picture of the AE IIc System Clock. I asked if anyone actual had one.  It turn out a number of people had them. One said he was willing to part with his and sold it to me.  He tested it with new batteries (using the test button-not hooking it up). While waiting for delivery I downloaded a copy of the AE System Clock Utilities disk and burned the image to a 5.25″ floppy.  After receiving I installed the 3 AA batteries and I attached the Clock Device to the Modem
port on the Laser 128 trying to follow the AE manual (downloaded from Archive.org)

The manual does not mention the Laser 128 but advertisements do. The program does ask you to select computer type (picture below). The manual seemed to flow easily but it took me a while to realize what I was doing. After you Set Switch, Set Time and then “Hit Return at Exact Time” nothing happens on the screen… leading you to believe it didn’t work. But it does and you then just need to use the Install option to get the Clock.System on another ProDOS Program Disk. The manual does not explain this either. When I was having difficulties I had the AE Device connected to the Modem Port. I tried the Parallel Port too with same results. So I moved it back.

Eventually, I set the Clock Date, Month, Day, and Time and when booting the
AE disk it displayed the Date, Month, Day and Time accurately (see picture).
However, when I install the Clock.System from the Install Disk on to other
ProDOS Disk programs the Time, Day and Year appear correctly, but the Month is off
by 6 months (see SystemSelector, System Utilities 3.1, ProDOS 2.4.1 and
CopyIIPlus pictures).

I will try to install it on an AppleWorks 2.1 Startup/Program and see how it acts. I think AppleWorks Displays both the Data and Time on the Screen.
I am also going to try the programs using the same version of ProDOS, version 1.1.1 from 1984, used by the AE Clock Install disk. Perhaps it only works with
the earlier versions. [well I did install on AppleWriter v1.5.7 which uses the same ProDOS. No difference. I even copied the ProDOS from the AE Disk to other program disks. No difference]. There are a number of basic programs on the AE disk. Now, I’m wondering if one of those is running to display date time accurately. Might move it/those to another disk with Clock.system to see what happens.

November 8, 2017 – Daylight Savings Time ended. Had to run SetDateTime to set Clock an hour.

Leave a Reply

